Article Feature image - Hames Sharley Architecture, Urban Design, Planning and Interior Design

The East Newman Precinct Structure Plan (ENPSP) was recently recognised at the Planning Institute of Australia WA 2023 Awards for Planning Excellence for its collaborative and inclusive approach to working with Country.

Co-designed by Karlka Nyiyaparli Aboriginal Corporation, Jamukurnu Yapalikurnu Aboriginal Corporation, Puntukurnu Aboriginal Medical Service, Creating Communities and Hames Sharley, the project received a commendation in the ‘Strategic Planning Project’ category, and an award for ‘Planning with Country’.

The East Newman area is the traditional lands of the Nyiyaparli peoples. Many years ago, Nyiyaparli asked Martu to look after Jigalong when they travelled their desert lands, and now the Nyiyaparli and Martu peoples live in Newman together.

In 2020 Nyiyaparli and Martu came together to sign the ‘This is Our Dream’ Cultural Compact, inviting individuals and organisations to listen to their story and acknowledge their aspirations to keep their culture, language and families strong in the Newman region.

As signatories of the Cultural Compact, the members of the design team committed to work alongside Nyiyaparli and Martu to collectively shape a shared future of mutual respect, inclusive decision-making, and opportunity for all.

The jury citation noted that the East Newman Precinct Structure Plan is an innovative approach, led by Nyiyaparli and Martu to improve health, wellbeing and educational outcomes of residents living in East Newman through investment into families, amenities, and housing.

The judges were impressed with how the team worked to respect the community, from the engagement design through community activations, workshops, artist studios, community gatherings, and co-design planning sessions. By doing this, the collaborative team have created a safer, more inclusive community for future generations where all can benefit from better health, wellbeing, education and employment opportunities.

The project will now progress to the national awards, to be held in May 2024.

Video supplied by Creating Communities