Article Feature image - Hames Sharley Architecture, Urban Design, Planning and Interior Design

Two Hames Sharley projects have been announced as finalists for the prestigious 2008 National Property Council Australia’s “Innovation and Excellence Awards”.

The Biomedical Research Facility for the University of Western Australia is in the running to win the “Bassett award for Sustainable Developments” while the Colonnade has been shortlisted in two categories, the “Woodhead Award for Mixed Use Development” and the “Rider Levett Bucknall Award for Office Developments”,

Executive Chairman of Hames Sharley, William Hames says having two projects as nominated finalists this year is a great achievement and a valuable opportunity to showcase the work and skills of the team.

“The nomination of two Hames Sharley projects as finalists in the Property Council National Awards is a great testament to the quality of our work and a fantastic recognition of the creative talent and skills of the teams involved.”

“The competition is tough but regardless of the outcome, I am immensely proud of what has been achieved already and I look forward to the jury’s decision later this month.”

The Biomedical Research Facility was designed by Hames Sharley to accommodate all breeding of small animals and a range of experimental zones in Western Australia. Since it’s opening, the facility has played home to some of the nation’s leading scientists and researchers. It has been the recipient of seven awards for it’s innovation and commitment to design and sustainability.

The redevelopment of the Colonnade for Hawaiian Group involved turning the existing shopping mall into an exciting mixed use facility. The ground floor mall was transformed into a 2000 square metre “Fitness First” fitness centre with existing retail and courtyard facing offices. The upper two levels of retail and offices were converted into offices for “Newmont Mining”.

The awards will be announced at an awards gala dinner function at the Crown Entertainment Complex in Melbourne on Saturday 24 May 2008.